Ibaraki University


Ibaraki University is a national university located in Ibaraki Prefecture, with campuses in the cities of Mito, Ami and Hitachi. It was established on May 31, 1949, integrating these prewar institutions: Mito High School (Mito Koto-Gakko), Ibaraki Normal School (Ibaraki Shihan-Gakko), Ibaraki Juvenile Normal School (Ibaraki Seinen Shihan-Gakko), and Taga Technical Specialists’ College (Taga Kogyo Senmon-Gakko). The initial colleges were the College of Arts and Sciences, the College of Education, and the College of Engineering.