University of Agder

Universitetet i Agder (UiA), UiA

University of Agder (Universitetet i Agder), previously Agder University College, has 9500 students and 900 members of faculty and staff. UiA is one of the largest institutions for higher education in Norway. Agder University College was instituted in 1994 after 6 colleges in Kristiansand, Grimstad and Arendal merged. The university college became Norway’s 7th university on September 1, 2007, after the government had granted it status as university on August 10, 2007.

As of today, the university is split between two campuses; Grimstad and Kristiansand, with the latter being the largest.

The University of Agder has five faculties, with the teacher training programmes organized in an interdisciplinary fashion. Currently the university offers 175 study programmes, including 20 Master programmes and 7 PhD programmes, in a wide variety of subjects, such as business administration, social sciences, language, culture and literature, engineering, music and health related courses, as well as several other study programmes. All engineering programmes are currently located in Grimstad, nursing and healthcare programmes are taught both in Grimstad and Kristiansand. The remainder of the programmes and courses are taught in Kristiansand. The university is involved in significant international cooperation, and has signed agreements with 170 universities on student and teacher exchange in all parts of the world. The university closely collaborates with business, the public sector and NGOs in the Agder region. UiA contributes considerably to the economic, social and cultural development of the region.