General enquiries:

+47 22 85 50 50


Universitetet i Oslo (UiO) Postbox 1072 Blindern Oslo 0316 Oslo NORWAY

University of Oslo

Universitetet i Oslo (UiO), UiO

The University of Oslo (Norwegian: Universitetet i Oslo, is the oldest, largest and most prestigious university in Norway, situated in the Norwegian capital of Oslo. The university was founded in 1811 as The Royal Frederick University (in Norwegian Det Kongelige Frederiks Universitet and in Latin Universitas Regia Fredericiana) and was modelled after the recently established University of Berlin. It was originally named after King Frederick of Denmark and Norway and received its current name in 1939.

The university has faculties of (Lutheran) Theology, Law, Medicine, Humanities, Mathematics and Natural Sciences, Dentistry, Social Sciences, and Education. The Faculty of Law is still located at the old campus on Karl Johans gate, near the National Theatre, the Royal Palace, and the Parliament, while most of the other faculties are located at a modern campus area called Blindern, erected from the 1930s. The Faculty of Medicine is split between several university hospitals in the Oslo area.

Currently the university has about 27,000 students and employs about 4,600 people. It is considered one of the leading universities of Scandinavia, and has consistently been ranked among the world’s top 100 universities by the Academic Ranking of World Universities; in 2010 it was ranked as the best in Norway, 4th best in the Nordic countries, 24th best in Europe and 75th best in the world. The QS World University Rankings ranked the university 100th in the world. Until the founding of the University in 1811, the University of Copenhagen was the only university of Denmark-Norway. After the dissolution of the Dano-Norwegian union in 1814, close academic ties between the countries have been maintained. The University of Oslo was the only university in Norway until 1946, and hence informally often known as simply “The University”. It was also informally referred to as “The Royal Frederick’s” (Det Kgl. Frederiks) for short.

[ + ]